So I’m a diabetic…

Reality can be a harsh, hard thing.

Six days ago my entire life changed, and all I can do is strap in and get ready for the rollercoaster that is life.

Hello, I’m a diabetic.

Before last Thursday, that was never even something I thought I would say.  Never even saw it coming at all – hit me like a one-way train.  Completely derailed me.

This is the story about how I found out…

I was sitting at work, when I got a call from my mom.  It was just before 7 am, so I knew immediately something was wrong.  And it didn’t help when the first thing she did was tell me to “grab a pen and sit down.”

That’s when she told me that my kidney doctor had just called my parents’ house and said they needed to speak with me right away.  I’d been at the doctor the day before (I have a non-stop battle with kidney stones) and while I was there, I had a blood test done.  The test was supposed to be checking the calcium in my blood.

Anyways, the only thing they would tell her is that some numbers were “seriously out of whack,” but they couldn’t tell her anything else.  

She didn’t tell me at the time, but her first thought was that I had leukemia.  When she later told me, I almost laughed because it was the same thing I thought when she told me!  Neither of us wanted to freak the other out with our thoughts.

The doctor’s office didn’t open for an hour after we got the phone call.  I’m not going to lie… it was one of the scariest hours of my life.  I was thinking all the worst.  At one point, I’d convinced myself that I was going to die.  I don’t remember what I was dying from, but I was convinced it was over.

I started calling as soon as they opened – but apparently I wasn’t the only one who they scared the crap out of that day.  After a couple tries, I just had to settle for leaving a message to have them call me back.

Again, I was waiting…

I finally got the call back.  It seemed like an eternity, but I’m sure it was just a few minutes.  I honestly couldn’t tell you, even though I clearly remember staring at the clock the whole time.

The nurse had one of the most serious tones I’ve ever heard.  That didn’t help my nervousness about what I was about to hear.  She told me that my blood workup showed my blood glucose was critically high.  Then she threw out the number 560.

Not knowing anything about diabetes, I said “I’m guessing that’s high?”  She told me that the normal levels should be at 100.  I nearly collapsed right there.  She told me I needed to get to my regular doctor “TODAY.”

After several phone calls, I finally got an appointment for later that day, but it wasn’t for nearly 7 hours after the call.

Seven painfully slow hours later, I was finally at the doctor’s office.

The doctor walked in, sat down and said the words that rocked my world.  “So it looks like you’re a diabetic now.”

After many questions and trying to convince her that “maybe this is wrong” and “could this be a temporary problem?” she told me that from this point on, I should just accept that I’m a diabetic.

Type 2.

Before this whole ordeal, I didn’t even know what that meant.  Now I do.

So for now… I’m on medication.  One pill a day, but starting Friday I have to bump it to twice a day.  I’ve had to completely change what I’m eating and I’m trying to learn everything I can about diabetes.  I want to control this, I don’t want it to control me.

I will fight… even when the fight is tough.  This is my life.

Published in: on February 24, 2010 at 10:31 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://diagnosisdiabetes.wordpress.com/2010/02/24/so-im-a-diabetic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] for me, my mom insisted on meeting me at the doctor’s office.  I guess after getting that phone call earlier that morning, she was gonna be freaked out until she got all the […]


Leave a Reply

