I have no clue what I’m doing…

Just when I think I have this diabetes all figured out… I test my blood sugar.

On days when I think I’m doing great, sometimes the numbers are high, sometimes they are normal.  I don’t feel like I can predict the machine anymore.

In the past week, I’ve tested myself and seen numbers between 94 and 168.  Never did I actually feel any different.

I know there are other factors at play with my numbers – its food, exercise and even the amount of water I’m drinking.  But it’s hard not to get discouraged when you think you’ll have a really good number, and it isn’t.

Luckily, I have a great support team in my family and my loved ones.  My mom gave me some really good advice about taking it slow the other day.  She knows me well, and knows I want to know everything about diabetes and I want to know it now – but that’s not possible.

This is one of those things you have to learn from.  When something you eat makes you spike – take note.  Foods don’t affect everyone the same.  What is good for you, may not be good for me.

It’s frustrating not being able to control what is going on in my own body.  Step by step, day by day… I’ll learn.

Published in: on March 8, 2010 at 10:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://diagnosisdiabetes.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/i-have-no-clue-what-im-doing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

